New | 3406C Propulsion Engine

The mechanically governed 3406C marine propulsion engine is available “A” rating of 365 bhp (272 bkW) and a “B” rating of 400 bhp (298 bkW).

Power Rating
Power Range365-400 bhp (272-298 bkW)
Engine Specifications
Speed Range1800 rpm
AspirationTA
ConfigurationIn-line 6, 4-Stroke-Cycle Diesel
Bore5.4 in
Stroke6.5 in
Displacement891 in3
Rotation (from flywheel end)Counterclockwise
EmissionsNon-Certified
Dimensions & Weights
Length57.3 in
Width36.0 in
Height50.3 in
Dry Weight (Approx.)2921 lb
Exhaust System
  • Manifold & Turbocharger, watercooled
  • 152 mm (6 in) round flanged outlet on 1800 rpm
  • Elbow, dry, 152 mm (6 in) on 1800 rpm
  • Flange, dry, 152 mm (6 in) on 1800 rpm;
Air Inlet System
  • Aftercooler core, corrosion resistant coated (air side)
  • Air cleaner, Regular duty, dry, panel type with service indicator.
  • Turbocharger inlet, 152 mm (6 in) OD straight connection
Control System
  • Governor, Hydra-mechanica
Flywheels & Flywheel Housings
  • Flywheel, SAE No. 14
  • Flywheel housing, SAE No. 1
  • SAE standard rotation
Fuel System
  • Fuel filter, Spin on, LH
  • Fuel transfer pump
  • Fuel priming pump
  • Flexible fuel lines
  • Fuel ratio control
Instrumentation
  • Instrument panel, LH
  • Engine Oil Pressure gauge
  • Engine water temperature gauge
  • Fuel pressure gauge
Lube System
  • Crankcase breather
  • Oil filter, Spin on, RH
  • Oil filler in valve cover and dipstick, RH
  • Oil pump, sump, manual
Mounting System
  • Front Support
Cooling System
  • Oil cooler
  • Thermostats and housing, Full open temperature 92 C (198 F)
  • Jacket water pump, gear driven, centrifugal
  • Auxiliary sea water pump, gear driven, rubber impeller, rotary, self priming (heat exchanger engines only)
  • Expansion tank
  • Marine transmission oil cooler
Starting/Charging System
  • Charging alternator
  • Electric starting motor, LH
General
  • Vibration damper
  • Lifting eyes
  • NOTE: Engines for keel cooling do NOT include keel cooler. Engines for heat exchanger cooling do NOT include heat exchanger.

listofrelationships

original

Other Models in this Category

Select Marine Power System Type


Hawthorne Power Systems Logo

Why Cat is Better. Machine Comparison

"
With only a few days notice, we were able to get the emergency system working properly. Hawthorne Cat provided great leadership and excellent field support.
Mark Cripe
Helix Electric
"

San Diego - Power
Steve Jamison
Power Systems Sales Manager
858.376.6821 office
858.688.0083 mobile
sjamison@hawthornecat.com

Phillip J. Smith (PJ)
Service Manager - CSA Group/Truck Shop
858.376.6874 office
858.688.0134 mobile
psmith@hawthornecat.com

Dan Hixon
Field Service Manager
858.376.6822 office
858.663.4652 mobile
dhixon@hawthornecat.com

Paul Karpf
Rental Department Manager
858.376.6888 office
858.688.0039 mobile
pkarpf@hawthornecat.com

Hawaii – Power
Cliff Yuen
Power Systems Sales Manager
808.676.0322 office
808.349.7767 mobile
cyuen@hawthornecat.com

Travis Tilton
General Service Manager
808.676.0314 office
808.864.1903 mobile
ttilton@hawthornecat.com

Bobby Fields
Rental Developer
808.676.0267 office
808.368.5445 mobile
bfields@hawthornecat.com

Guam – Power
Myver Hecita
Power Systems Rental &
Sales Representative
671.649.4241 office
671.898.2740 mobile
mhecita@hawthornecat.com

Jimmy Cruz
Engine Service Manager
671.649.4216 office
671.488.2821 mobile
jpcruz@hawthornecat.com