New | Cat C280-16 Marine Generator Set

Generator Set Specifications
Minimum Rating4700 ekW (5875 kVA)
Maximum Rating4840 ekW (6050 kVA)
Frequency50 Hz or 60 Hz
Speed1000 rpm (50 hz) or 900 rpm (60 hz)
Generator Set Configurations
Emissions/Fuel StrategyEPA Tier 2, IMO II
Engine Specifications
Engine ModelVee 16, 4-Stroke-Cycle Diesel
AspirationTurbocharged-Aftercooled
Bore11.0 in
Stroke11.8 in
Displacement18062.0 in3
Governor TypeElectronic
Fuel SystemEUI
Compression Ratio 50 Hz13.1
Compression Ratio 60 Hz13:1
Generator Set Dimensions
Length366.7 in
Width78.3 in
Height164.1 in
Weight31000 kg/ 68343 lb (engine dry weight), 18145 kg/ 40000 lb (generator weight)
Air Inlet System
  • Aftercooler — fresh water, corrosion resistant coated (air side); air inlet shutoff; breather — crankcase, top-mounted; turbocharger — engine oil lubricated
Control System
  • Single Caterpillar® A3 electronic control unit (ECU) with electronic unit injector fuel system, rigid wiring harness (10 amp, 24 volt power required to drive ECUs)
Cooling System
  • Engine coolant water drains
Exhaust System
  • Dry, gas tight, exhaust manifold
Fuel System
  • Distillate fuel (requires viscosity ranging from 1.4 cSt to 20 cSt at 38° C), fuel transfer pump (mounted on left-hand side), duplex fuel filters, electronically controlled unit injectors
Lube Oil System
  • Centrifugal oil filters with single shutoff, service side engine mounted on cylinder block inspection covers includes installed oil lines and single shutoff valve, filters centrifuge bypass oil from the main lubricating oil pump, can be serviced with the engine running, oil filler and dipstick valve, oil pressure regulating valves, crankcase explosion relief valves
General
  • Caterpillar yellow paint; gear-driven pumps: fuel, oil, jacket water, aftercooler/oil cooler water; service literature

listofrelationships

original

Other Models in this Category

Select Marine Power System Type


Hawthorne Power Systems Logo

Why Cat is Better. Machine Comparison

"
With only a few days notice, we were able to get the emergency system working properly. Hawthorne Cat provided great leadership and excellent field support.
Mark Cripe
Helix Electric
"

San Diego - Power
Steve Jamison
Power Systems Sales Manager
858.376.6821 office
858.688.0083 mobile
sjamison@hawthornecat.com

Phillip J. Smith (PJ)
Service Manager - CSA Group/Truck Shop
858.376.6874 office
858.688.0134 mobile
psmith@hawthornecat.com

Dan Hixon
Field Service Manager
858.376.6822 office
858.663.4652 mobile
dhixon@hawthornecat.com

Paul Karpf
Rental Department Manager
858.376.6888 office
858.688.0039 mobile
pkarpf@hawthornecat.com

Hawaii – Power
Cliff Yuen
Power Systems Sales Manager
808.676.0322 office
808.349.7767 mobile
cyuen@hawthornecat.com

Travis Tilton
General Service Manager
808.676.0314 office
808.864.1903 mobile
ttilton@hawthornecat.com

Bobby Fields
Rental Developer
808.676.0267 office
808.368.5445 mobile
bfields@hawthornecat.com

Guam – Power
Myver Hecita
Power Systems Rental &
Sales Representative
671.649.4241 office
671.898.2740 mobile
mhecita@hawthornecat.com

Jimmy Cruz
Engine Service Manager
671.649.4216 office
671.488.2821 mobile
jpcruz@hawthornecat.com