New | M 46 DF Marine Propulsion Engine

The low emission footprint paired with high efficiency and reliability make the M 46 DF an ideal propulsion engine for operation inside and outside of environmental protected areas as well as waters with HFO limitations. Upcoming IMO III emission regulations, selected operation profiles and low diesel fuel costs make the M 46 DF a preferred engine regarding cost of operation.

Power Rating
Power Range5400 - 8685 kW
Engine Specifications
Speed Range500 / 514 rpm
EmissionsIMO II in diesel mode / IMO III in gas mode
AspirationTurbocharged
Bore18.11 in
Stroke24.02 in
Rotation (from flywheel end)Counterclockwise / Clockwise
Configuration6,7,8,9 Cylinder
Swept Volume6181.7 in3
Dimensions & Weights
Minimum Dry Weight207234 lb
Minimum Length328 in
Maximum Length424 in
Minimum Height202 in
Maximum Height216.6 in
Minimum Width116.6 in
Maximum Width116.6 in

Key Attributes Of The M 46 Df Are Class Leading Efficiency And Loading Capacity As Well As The Operational Simplicity Which Is Supported By A Fully Automated Engine Control.

  • Operation On Natural Gas With Min. Methane Number Of 55 Possible At Reduced Load.
  • Supports Hfo Operation According To Cimac H55/k55 In Diesel Mode.
Air Inlet System
  • Air intake silencer / filter
Control System
  • Load sharing unit
  • Modular Alarm Control Protection System (MACS)
  • Speed governor
Cooling System
  • Electric cooling water preheater
  • HT cooling water pump (engine driven)
  • 2-stage charge air cooler
Exhaust System
  • Exhaust gas expansion joint
  • Exhaust gas insulated manifolds
  • Turbocharger at flywheel / counter flywheel end
Fuel System
  • Fuel circulating pump (electric driven / for MDO/MGO only)
  • Fuel indicator filter
  • Fuel pressure valve (separate / for MDO/MGO only)
Gas System
  • Gas valve unit
Instrumentation
  • Control push buttons and lamps
  • Emergency stop lever
  • Local control panel
  • Pressure and temperature indicator
Lube System
  • Dry sump
  • Lube oil plate cooler (separate)
  • Lube oil pump (engine driven)
  • Lube oil safety filter
  • Lube oil self-cleaning filter
  • Pressure regulating valve
Mounting System
  • High flexible coupling
  • Rigid mounting
Starting System
  • Electrical barring device
  • Starting air valve
General
  • Lifting device (rental)
  • Torsional Vibration Calculation (TVC)

listofrelationships

small_image

Other Models in this Category

Select Marine Power System Type


Hawthorne Power Systems Logo

Hot Deals - Buy New. Buy Now. We'll Make Your Down Payment. Learn More.

Why Cat is Better. Machine Comparison

"
With only a few days notice, we were able to get the emergency system working properly. Hawthorne Cat provided great leadership and excellent field support.
Mark Cripe
Helix Electric
"

San Diego - Power
Steve Jamison
Power Systems Sales Manager
858.376.6821 office
858.688.0083 mobile
sjamison@hawthornecat.com

Phillip J. Smith (PJ)
Service Manager - CSA Group/Truck Shop
858.376.6874 office
858.688.0134 mobile
psmith@hawthornecat.com

Dan Hixon
Field Service Manager
858.376.6822 office
858.663.4652 mobile
dhixon@hawthornecat.com

Paul Karpf
Rental Department Manager
858.376.6888 office
858.688.0039 mobile
pkarpf@hawthornecat.com

Tom Bonham
Product Support Sales Manager
858.376.6898 office
442.248.2108 mobile
tbonham@hawthornecat.com

Hawaii – Power
Cliff Yuen
Power Systems Sales Manager
808.676.0322 office
808.349.7767 mobile
cyuen@hawthornecat.com

Travis Tilton
General Service Manager
808.676.0314 office
808.864.1903 mobile
ttilton@hawthornecat.com

Bobby Fields
Rental Developer
808.676.0267 office
808.368.5445 mobile
bfields@hawthornecat.com

Guam – Power
Myver Hecita
Power Systems Rental &
Sales Representative
671.649.4241 office
671.898.2740 mobile
mhecita@hawthornecat.com

Jimmy Cruz
Engine Service Manager
671.649.4216 office
671.488.2821 mobile
jpcruz@hawthornecat.com